MHS Speech & Debaters Compete at State

The Mason High School Speech & Debate Team qualified 28 students and four alternates to this year's Ohio High School Speech League's State Tournament that was held at Berea-Midpark High School on March 3-4, 2017, in the Cleveland District. Mason placed tenth overall out of 64 schools across the state in Team Sweepstakes, and several MHS students advanced to finals. The team is coached by Head Coach Melissa Donahue and Assistant Coach Bruce Harris.


"I am extremely proud of this year's accomplishments!" shared Donahue. "We had some rather large shoes to fill after graduating several talented team members last season, but our varsity students really stepped up as officers and event leaders by running a successful Speak Week camp, mentoring novice members, and providing judge training opportunities. Their achievements at States is proof that they have worked hard all season."



Chinmay Bakshi - Fifth place in International Extemporaneous Speaking

Aditya Jog & Suraj Komatineni - Finalists in Student Congress (Top 18 out of 211 competitors)

Rishi Mehta - Fourth place in Informative Speaking

Nihar Rama - Seventh place in United State Extemporaneous Speaking


Elimination Round Results

Vidhan Bhardwaj - Quarter-finalist in United State Extemporaneous Speaking

Tristan Groenewold & Michael Hakes - Semi-finalists in Student Congress

Shravya Kamaraju - Quarter-finalist in Declamation

The team of Atneya Nair & Rahul Ramesh - Octa-finalists in Public Forum Debate

Shriya Penmetsa - Quarter-finalist in Original Oratory

Karishma Ponkshe - Double-Octafinalist in Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Aditi Rajgopal - Quarter-finalist in International Extemporaneous Speaking

Jenny Zhang - Semi-finalist in Original Oratory


The following students qualified to State:


Prathameth Chati

Shravya Kamaraju

Anish Selar (Alternate)


Dramatic Interpretation

Hosanna An


Duo Interpretation

The team of Arnav Damadhor and Abhishek Nandra (Alternates)



Arnav Divekar

Praneeth Kanna (Alternate)

Rishi Mehta

Avi Parshonikar


International Extemporaneous 

Chinmay Bakshi

Kiran Boyinepally

Seth Gerus

Aditi Rajogopal

Kash Reddy



Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Vinamra Agrawa

Sanjana Are and Karishma Ponkshe



Original Oratory

Shriya Penmetsa

Jenny Zhang


Public Forum Debate

The team of Preetham Kastury and Rishav Mukherjee

The team of Atneya Nair and Rahul Ramesh



Student Congress

Tristan Groenewold

Michael Hakes

Aditya Jog

Suraj Komatineni



United States Extemp

Vidhan Bhardwaj

Ashwin Kalyanakumar

Mallika Madugula 

Nihar Rama